A synonym of formative Indonesian architecture

Presented with an award as an inspiring person: Indonesian architect Budiman Hendropurnomo receives The Luminary award sponsored by Wilkhahn. Photo: Wilkhahn

The INDE.Awards were presented in Melbourne for the third time on 22 June 2019 and pay tribute to the best and most cutting-edge design and architecture projects in the Asia Pacific region. Organised by Indesign Media Asia Pacific, the region’s major design platform, an international panel of expert judges selected this year’s winners from a total of 430 submissions from 14 countries in 15 competition categories. The award’s objective is to boost the significance of the creative potential and level of design in the region and to make it better known internationally.

This year, Wilkhahn again sponsored the INDE.Awards in the people’s choice category (called The Luminary), in which tribute is paid to an outstanding person who (as a role model) takes a consistent and bold approach to architecture or design. Deserving holders of The Luminary trophy question customs typical of the industry and inspire others with their skills and innovative designs.

A packed house at the INDE.Awards 2019, photo: INDE.Awards 2019

This year’s The Luminary accolade went to Indonesian architect Budiman Hendropurnomo (Denton Corker Marshall), who has designed more than 30 award-winning hotels and resorts as well as many of the country’s most famous architectural landmarks in his nearly 40-year career. Today, the name Hendropurnomo is synonymous with large-scale projects that have shaped the urban landscape and the perception of modern Indonesian architecture. Each of these construction projects has elements of experimentation, complemented by meticulous attention to detail. The projects are focused on the quest for sustainability and the desire to combine Indonesian culture with modern architecture in a new way.

All this year’s winners of the INDE.Awards 2019 on stage together, photo: INDE.Awards 2019

The people and the judges awarded the following prizes:

Winner of The Luminary (sponsored by Wilkhahn): Budiman Hendropurnomo, Denton Corker Marshall, Indonesia

Winner of The Building: Maitland River Link, CHROFI with McGregor Coxall, Australia

Winner of The Multi-Residential Building: Short Lane, Woods Bagot, Australia

Winner of The Living Space: PROJECT #13, STUDIO WILLS + Architects, Singapore

Winner of The Work Space´: Space & Time, Russell & George, Australia

Winner of The Social Space: S Space, H&P Architects, Vietnam

Winner of The Shopping Space: Usfin Atelier, George Livissianis, Australia

Winner of The Learning Space: Green Square Library and Plaza, Studio Hollenstein with Stewart Architecture, Australia

Winner of The Wellness Space: Punmu & Parnngurr Aboriginal Health Clinics, Kaunitz Yeung Architecture, Australia

Winner of The Design Studio: Produce, Singapore

Winner of The Influencer: Hawker Reload: Hong Kong Street Market Urban Design and Hawker Stall Implementation, Groundwork Architects and Associates, Hong Kong

Winner of The Object: OMNI, Tom Fereday for Earp Bros, Australia

Winner of The Prodigy: Felicity Slattery & Sarah Cosentino, Studio Esteta, Australia

Winner of The Gold Mark: Arc, Koichi Takada Architects, Australia

Winner of The Best of the Best: Produce, Singapore


You can find more information on the INDE-Awards here.

Suscríbete a nuestro boletín

regístrate ahorano, gracias

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter

inscrivez-vous maintenantNon, merci

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Jetzt registrierenNein, Danke

Subscribe to our newsletter

register nowNo, thank you